At Forfars we use the finest ingredients we can, and where possible we source them from local suppliers. We realise that the certain ingredients are of concern to some people so we have put together some information to keep you informed of what is happening at Forfars.
Common Food Allergies
Forfars do not specifically produce any wheat free products, although the Macaroon, meringue and rice crispy novelties (available seasonally) are free from wheat (providing the decoration on the novelties does not consist of Smarties or 100s & 1000s).
Forfars products are not recommended for nut allergy sufferers due to the fact that production takes place in an environment where nuts and seeds are used.
Forfars are delighted to inform customers that all our breads and savoury lines are now free from hydrogenated vegetable oils and fats. We are currently working very hard to eliminate hydrogenated oils and fats from all our product range.
This is an ongoing challenge for us and we are certain there has been no compromise on the taste or quality of any of our products.
All our bread, cream cakes, plus a selection of savoury products and sandwiches are suitable for vegetarians. The majority of our confectionery lines are also suitable, with the exception of any products made or decorated with Smarties, jelly sweets, dolly mixtures or marshmallows.
All the mayonnaise used in Forfars products is made from pasteurised egg.
We only source Tuna that is ‘Dolphin Friendly’.
Forfars products are made with no genetically modified ingredients.
If you suffer from an allergy or intolerance to ingredients such as egg or milk, please contact Karen Bristow, our Food Technologist, at the bakery for a list of products that may be suitable for you.